Festival Film Dokumenter 2012: Day Two.

by celo

So yeah, continuing my last post, now I’m back with my report of second day of FFD Jogja 2012’s documentary films screening. This day (which is actually the third day of the whole series of FFD 2012) I could only watch 2 of 3 films that I put into my watch-list because of the screening’s long delay that messed up my whole plan for that day.

I planned to watch a movie from perspective category titled Coffee, Cake, and Crematorium, I really did. When I read the synopsis, this one just went straight to my list. But since I couldn’t watch it, I hope I’ll find it another documentary film festival—or anywhere cause I want to watch it so bad.

The first movie I watched that day is Happiness… Promised Land. A France movie that will be released next 26th in France (Whoa? Really, IMDb? :O) directed by Laurent Hasse with 94 minutes of running time. I don’t know why they put it in Short Documentaries Creative category cause for me 94 minutes is long enough for a documentary (and I remember sleeping a couple times when it played).

Is it boring? Hmmm, not really because actually Happiness… Promised Land is a typical road movie with a lot of catchy landscape for your eyes. It was about a man who traveled (by feet, carrier and camera) across France in eighty two days after suffered coma from car accident. He walked day by day, asking people he met and gave him shelter about a very simple question, “What is happiness?” He left his beloved dear, made a pact with himself that he would not go home before he could travel across France. Sometimes, in his own dilemma, he took a detour with a slow pace so that he wouldn’t end his journey too fast but eager to come home as soon as possible. With many people he met and gave him various answer for his question that sometimes made me nod in agreement, will you call it a boring movie? Personally, I won’t go that far, it just made me sleep a couple times. Maybe I’m just tired from the day before, or maybe, as I said before, documentary is not really my thing.

I love this movie, every quote in it, and every view that showed by Mr. Hasse. It told me that happiness is not something you can enjoy with much pleasure if you never suffer before. That Happiness is in your self from the very first start, but the journey you’re gone trough is not something futile, nor meaningless. Yes, happiness lied beneath yourself all along, but the distance you’re taking with your feet is something that will open your eyes, to show you that you’re carrying happiness inside of you all the time but you never realize because you never traveled far enough to see that it was there. I could see it from their (Laurent Hasse and every people he met) perspective. But if he came to me and asked me the very same question, na’ah, I couldn’t answer that just yet😛

No kidding, this movie titled Denok & Gareng directed by Ms. Nugraheni which appeared as a special screening at FFD 2012 is one of very few reasons that moved me want to watch FFD. Actually this movie played at Chop Shots but I couldn’t watch it cause I had to meet my old (and closest) friends (in internet). Glad that they played it here yesterday, moreover as a special screening.

Denok & Gareng is a 89 minutes documentary film about a couple of ex-children-of-the-street that decided to marry and sold pig as their living. Their decision was an unique one as pig is a ‘haram’ for Muslim (both of them are Muslim, in Islam is a major religion in this country too). As children of the street, their life is rough and brutal (this is a stigma for any children of the street, tho), it’s a habit and one not simply take their habit even after walk down the aisle. For me, Ms. Nugraheni presented a very good movie about the dynamic life of the couple very well. Nicely done and very focus. It’s a shame Denok & Gareng only took the second place of the competition at Chop Shot. She deserves more than that.

I’m not trying to be subjective by supporting a filmmaker from my country. This review may not free from any biases, tho…, but if you watch it, I bet you’ll agree with me. Denok & Gareng showed me that a documentary doesn’t have to be filled with boring talking heads or a lot of beautiful landscape shot to keep people on their seat, but a documentary film has to trying their best to communicate with audiences about the issue they want us to know. This one surely did that part, a 89 minutes full of Denok and Gareng’s problematic life and what they did to deal with it. And to be noted, Denok & Gareng showed me that children of the street may have scary appearance, with tattoos attached on their body, with booze and such…, but they also human. That they cry sometimes, just like human does.

I planned to watch Coffee, Cake and Crematorium right after Denok & Gareng, unfortunately I couldn’t😦 Anyway, I took the pictures in this post from FFD’s official website. Hope they’re not gonna ask me to take it down😐